view all news
Complete Story


Primary Care First Questions to Be Answered by CMS


Mark Your Calendar for Monday, January 6, 2020  at 7 pm EST for a webinar to discuss Primary Care First Model Options

The AMA has partnered with the American Academy of Family Physicians and American College of Physicians to host Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation staff in a free 60-minute webinar about the new Primary Care First Model. Primary Care First will be offered in 26 geographic regions starting in 2021. Applications are due January 22, 2020. (Current CPC+ participants are not eligible to start in 2021 but will be invited to apply at a later date for a 2022 start.)

The webinar will include important information about the model and application process, examples of how practices could be paid under the model's monthly and performance-based payments, and attendees will be able to have their questions answered in an interactive session with CMS staff who designed the model. A key focus of the webinar will be helping practices understand how to determine whether participation in Primary Care First may be right for them.

Register for Webinar >

Primary Care First Model Options is a set of voluntary five-year payment options that reward value and quality by offering an innovative payment structure to support delivery of advanced primary care. In response to input from primary care clinician stakeholders, Primary Care First is based on the underlying principles of the existing CPC+ model design: prioritizing the doctor-patient relationship; enhancing care for patients with complex chronic needs and high need, seriously ill patients, reducing administrative burden, and focusing financial rewards on improved health outcomes.

Primary Care First Model Options will be offered in 26 regions for a 2021 start date: Alaska (statewide), Arkansas (statewide), California (statewide), Colorado (statewide), Delaware (statewide), Florida (statewide), Greater Buffalo region (New York), Greater Kansas City region (Kansas and Missouri), Greater Philadelphia region (Pennsylvania), Hawaii (statewide), Louisiana (statewide), Maine (statewide), Massachusetts (statewide), Michigan (statewide), Montana (statewide), Nebraska (statewide), New Hampshire (statewide), New Jersey (statewide), North Dakota (statewide), North Hudson-Capital region (New York), Ohio and Northern Kentucky region (statewide in Ohio and partial state in Kentucky), Oklahoma (statewide), Oregon (statewide), Rhode Island (statewide), Tennessee (statewide), and Virginia (statewide).

For more information on the Primary Care First Model follow these links:



Printer-Friendly Version